219 East 4th Street | Alton, IL 62002 618.463.0580
Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Linkedin

Green, Snider and Ervin Win Awards at the 73rd Annual Gallatin Players of the Year Banquet

posted Apr 23 2018 11:30 PM


Photos by Theo Tate & Jeff Helmkamp

Article by Advantage News 

Sammy Green of Marquette Catholic and Kaylee Eaton of Civic Memorial received player of the year honors in the boys and girls divisions, respectively, on Sunday at the 73rd annual Gallatin Players of the Year Banquet at the Best Western Premier Hotel in Alton.

Eaton became the fifth CM player in the last eight seasons to earn girls player of the year honors. Green became the third Marquette player in the last five seasons to receive the boys player of the year award.

Eaton also received the girls' free-throw award, while Isaiah Ervin of the Explorers won the boys free-throw award. Marquette's Lila Snider and Alton's Donovan Clay earned the 110 Percent awards.

Sportsmanship awards were given to the Roxana boys team and East Alton-Wood River girls squad.

The banquet featured a speech from Dr. Ed Hightower, who worked as administrator for the Alton School District and superintendent for the Edwardsville School District. Hightower was also a longtime college basketball referee, who worked 12 NCAA Final Fours and was voted the Naismith Division I Men's College Basketball Official of the Year in 1992.

The awards banquet honors the five Riverbend schools – Alton, Marquette Catholic, Civic Memorial, EA-WR and Roxana. This year's event was renamed after Roxana High grad and Naismith Memorial Hall of Famer Harry Gallatin. The Alton Exchange Club, which disbanded in 2017, sponsored the first 72 editions of the event.


2018 – Sammy Green of Marquette Catholic and Kaylee Eaton of CM

2017 – Maurice Edwards of Alton and Allie Troeckler of CM

2016 – Shandon Boone of Marquette Catholic and Allie Troeckler of CM

2015 – Darrius Edwards of Alton and Allie Troeckler of CM

2014 – Deion Lavender of Marquette Catholic and Megan Trost of CM

Click here to read the full Advantage News article 

Below see all the past winners of the Gallatin Player of the Year

2004 — Nick Certa of Marquette Catholic

2003 — Nick Certa of Marquette Catholic

2000 — Michelle Beiermann of Marquette Catholic

1999 — Kendra Snyder of Marquette Catholic

1998 — Tony Certa of Marquette Catholic

1995 — Erica Oge of Marquette Catholic

1994 — Amie Gernigan of Marquette Catholic

1992 - Brad Bohannon of Marquette Catholic

1988 - Steve Mason of Marquette Catholic


Why Marquette?Give to Marquette